Notifications

Beyond the Crushing Waves

Beyond the Crushing Waves

Lilly Mirren Founding author
Based on one of Britain's most secret and shameful real-life scandals of child deportation.
Available in:
  • eBook

Synopsis

Two generations face heartbreak and injustice in this poignant and emotional novel inspired by true events.

Mary Roberts is a poor gutter child living in a council flat in 1950’s London. When she and her sister are left at an orphanage by their mother, they don't think their lives can get any worse.

Harry Evans is an orphan who finds himself, with Mary and her sister, on board a ship bound for Australia. They're sent to a farm school for children, where abuse and neglect are rife. A journey that will change their lives forever, and from which they’ll never return.

Married to her dream man, and with a baby on the way, Dr Mia Sato’s life is in perfect order. When her beloved grandmother has a fall, the photograph clutched in her hand prompts Mia to ask questions her grandmother isn’t willing to answer. When she cries out a confession that rocks Mia to her core, it leads to a shocking discovery of a past filled with lies, broken families and forced child migration.

For readers of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdad Sings.

From the USA Today Bestselling author of The Waratah Inn series.

Release date: October 12, 2021

Publisher: Black Lab Press

Print pages: 396

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Behind the book

Based on one of Britain's most secret and shameful real-life scandals in which over 100,000 British children were forcibly deported to Canada, South Africa, and Australia over several decades. Lilly Mirren’s heartbreaking, captivating and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us that no matter where the journey leads us, our heart will always find its way home to those we love.

Author updates