Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Audiobook
  • Hardcover


The classic lost thriller from the iconic number one bestseller.
It always starts with a small lie. That's how you stop noticing the bigger ones. After his friend suspects something strange going on at the launch facility where they both work - and then goes missing - Martin Hepton doesn't believe the official line of "long-term sick leave"...
Refusing to stop asking questions, he leaves his old life behind, aware that someone is shadowing his every move.The only hope he has is his ex-girlfriend Jill Watson - the only journalist who will believe his story. But neither of them can believe the puzzle they're piecing together - or just how shocking the secret is that everybody wants to stay hidden...
“Rankin is a master storyteller” GUARDIAN
“Great fiction, full stop” THE TIMES
“Ian Rankin is a genius” LEE CHILD
“One of Britain's leading novelists in any genre” NEW STATESMAN
“A virtuoso of the craft” DAILY MAIL
“Rankin is a phenomenon” SPECTATOR
“Britain's No.1 crime writer” MIRROR
“Quite simply, crime writing of the highest order” EXPRESS
“Worthy of Agatha Christie at her best” SCOTSMAN

Release date: January 7, 2020

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Print pages: 304

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...




Author updates