The Beat Goes On

The Beat Goes On

Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Audiobook
  • Hardcover


There is no detective like Ian Rankin’s Detective Inspector John Rebus, a man the New Yorker calls “the ideal sleuth.”

Brilliant, irascible, and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. The Beat Goes On collects all of Ian Rankin’s Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before-published tales written specifically for this collection.

From his beginnings as a young detective constable in “Dead and Buried” right up to his dramatic—but not quite final—retirement in “The Very Last Drop,” Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction’s most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. In these gripping, fast-paced tales, the legendary Scottish detective investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty, including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, an audacious jewel heist, suspicious happenings at a nursing home, and an ominous email that brings a family’s darkest secrets to light.

The Beat Goes On is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove—a must-have book for crime fiction aficionados and a superb introduction for anyone looking to experience John Rebus—and the dark, twist-filled crimes he investigates—for the first time.

Release date: August 11, 2015

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Print pages: 480

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...




Author updates