Notifications

Synopsis

Can you really trust the family next door?

Brooke is delighted when Oliver decides to rent her old family home with his three-year-old son Finley. Finally someone to bring happiness to the rundown house across the street. They seem like the perfect tenants, but Brooke is a little unnerved when they move in with just a single bag between them. Where are their belongings?

When Brooke asks Oliver about his past, he quickly changes the subject. Her best friend tells her to leave it, after all Brooke has been through enough trauma in her life. But Brooke can’t shake off the feeling that something isn’t right. Why aren’t her new tenants’ names listed anywhere online?

Then Brooke arrives home to find orange flames dancing in the upstairs windows. As her whole life goes up in smoke, she is convinced it wasn’t an accident. And when she finds Finley drawing a picture of an angry burning house with terror in his eyes, her blood runs cold. What is Finley so frightened of? And why does Oliver snatch the drawing away the moment he sees it?

Brooke is convinced Finley is in serious danger, but given her past, she’s not sure anyone will believe her. Is Brooke ready to face up to her own demons to save the little boy? And when the truth is finally revealed, who is really the one in danger?

The New Family is an addictive psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of The Wife, The Silent Patient and Lisa Jewell.

Why readers love The New Family:

‘A delicious thriller… I read this over two days, jumping into bed each night to pick up where I left off!… I was thoroughly hooked… I loved this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘There are twists and turns that could rival a roller coaster! Surprise after surprise kept me rivetedIntense, gripping and very compelling!… A must-read.’ @rubie_reads, 5 stars

‘A superb read… Kept me on the edge of my seatExciting, engrossing, a page-turner… Top marks.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘I absolutely loved this thriller.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘A one-sitting readBrilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Plenty to keep you absorbed!’ NetGalley reviewer

Compelling suspense… An immersive read

Release date: November 16, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates