Angus: A Broken World Novel

Angus: A Broken World Novel

Buy now
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback

Kindle Unlimited

Free with a subscription to Kindle Unlimited



Angus James has played many roles in his life, but none have prepared him for the one he now finds himself in. Alone for too long, traveling the wastelands of what was once the United States, he's all but given up hope of ever seeing another living person.

Then he finds her.

Naya is a tough and resilient kid, but she's alone in a world full of creatures intent on wiping out what's left of the human race, and Angus knows it's up to him to keep her safe. And for once in his life, he's determined to get something right.

Battling nightmarish creatures, feral animals, harsh conditions, and even their own demons, Angus and Naya must work together if they want to survive. But being with another person after years on his own brings up painful memories Angus had thought were long forgotten, making the journey as heartbreaking as it is treacherous. It gives him something else as well, though. Hope. And that's something he never thought he'd have again.

Release date: December 20, 2020

Publisher: Twisted Press, LLC

Print pages: 498

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...
Angus: A Broken World Novel
Kate L. Mary
4.19 MB




Behind the book

This book is part of a series, but it doesn’t necessarily have to be read as part of that series. In case you’re confused, I’ll elaborate. Of my 45 published books and novellas, 28 of them take place in the same universe. I have 5 series and 1 standalone novel set in this world, and while Angus is technically a standalone, I’m putting it with the Broken World books, which is the first zombie series I wrote. My 5 zombie series can be read in any order, I made sure of that when I wrote them, so don’t worry if you don’t follow the suggested reading order exactly. You won’t be confused, and while they all take place in the same zombie apocalypse, they can be enjoyed independently. There is, however, a recommended reading order that might make the journey more enjoyable for the reader, which is my purpose for writing this. You see, some of the characters from the Broken World series pop up in other books, which is why I wanted to include this. If you’re new to my zombie books, take a moment to check out the recommended reading order:


The Broken World Series:
Shattered World
Mad World
Lost World
New World
Forgotten World
Silent World
Broken Stories

Alone: A Zombie Novel

The Twisted World Series:
Twisted World
Twisted Mind
Twisted Memories
Twisted Fate

The Oklahoma Wastelands Series:
The Loudest Silence
The Brightest Darkness
The Sweetest Torment

The Far Series:
Far from Home
Far from Safe
Far from Lost

Zombie Apocalypse Love Story Novellas

Where does Angus go in this lineup? I would suggest reading it last, but if nothing else, reading it after the Broken World and Twisted World books will give the reader a lot of insight into these characters. The novellas are the least important books that go into understanding who these characters are—and are very heavy on the romance—and since the Far Series is still new and not complete, I didn’t include anything about those characters in Angus. I’m not much of a plotter when it comes to writing, which means I still don’t know what’s going to happen to the group of survivors in the Far Series, and rather than write myself into a corner, I chose to leave them out of this story. 

What can you expect if you read Angus without having read the other books? Well, my hope is that you’ll fall in love with a very complex character who has undergone a major transformation. I know I have. I’ve done everything I could to add backstory about the characters and their relationships without giving away too much of the plot from previous books, but inevitably, there will be some spoilers. Nothing major for the most part, and if you choose to go back and read the other books, the ride will still have a lot of ups and downs, as well as some big surprises, but it won’t be the same.

Now to address the people who have read and loved every one of my zombie books.

I’ve been thinking about writing this book for a long time, both because readers have asked over and over again for more books about this group—and about Angus in particular—and because I felt there was more to the story. I wanted this to be an epic sendoff for Angus similar to how the movie Logan was an epic sendoff for Hugh Jackman’s portrayal as Wolverine. Angus James has been my favorite character to write by far, and throughout these books, he’s changed in ways I never could have imagined. He started as the character you loved to hate, and while I always planned to redeem him in some way, I never could have imagined the direction he would eventually take. This book is going to make you cry, and it might even make you hate me, and for that I’m sorry, but I promise it will also surprise you. You are going to see layers of Angus you never could have imagined existed, and you’re going to see characters resurrected that you thought were gone for good. Most of all, though, you’re going to see a world that is utterly terrifying. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Author updates