Notifications

Synopsis

“I can help you find the man who killed your wife.”

It’s the last thing Jake Parker expects to hear from an old friend from his military days at West Point, Lt Colonel Douglas McDonnell. Officially, Jake’s wife Mel was an unlucky bystander during a sudden terrorist attack, but Jake has always felt there was a missing piece of the puzzle. When McDonnell tells him that his team has been tracking the group responsible, it’s Jake’s opportunity to finally lay Mel’s ghost to rest.

McDonnell believes that the terrorist cell is linked to one of the big pharma companies operating out of Puerto Rico, and he needs Jake’s skills on his team for one specific task: find the link and take them down. But as soon as Jake arrives, the plan begins to crumble. Focused on targeting the group members one at a time, the team on the ground won’t listen to Jake’s insistence that they look at the bigger picture.

When Jake meets bio-chemist Veronique, they hit it off. But when she confesses her fears that her employer is manufacturing a drug for the US market with deadly side effects, Jake realises that the terrorists have raised the stakes, and more innocent lives are at risk if he doesn’t act fast. Then Veronique is kidnapped. Unable to trust anyone around him, Jake is pushed as never before to find Vero while taking down the evil organisation before they strike at the US population…

A non-stop action thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. An unputdownable read for fans of David Baldacci, I Am Pilgrim and Jack Ryan.

Readers love Nick Thacker:

Non-stop GO from the beginning! The good guys are easy to identify with and the baddies are very bad indeed!… READ the book!!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

There are thrillers and there are THRILLERS. This is the latter… I actually had to lay this down a few times so I could catch my breath.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I stayed up till 1.30am to finish it.” B for Bookreview, 5 stars

Watch out Lee Childs and James Rollins!!!… a fast-paced page-turner… You will have a hard time putting it down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“One of the best thrillers I've readThe pace never slows… A page-turner from beginning to end.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Fast-paced and punchy… filled with action with a race against time… moves like lightning and the end is a shocker!… It’ll have you on the edge of your seat.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I couldn’t put this book down. Had me hooked from the first page.” Goodreads reviewer

“Great story, great characters, [was] holding my breath through many scenes

Release date: January 8, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates