Notifications

The English Girl

The English Girl

Available in:
  • eBook

Synopsis

1946, Norfolk, England: She gazes out across the beach, its beauty marred by the sharp barbed wire, hiding deadly mines beneath the sand. Back in the village, everyone is nervously awaiting the arrival of the German prisoners, who will change everything…

Grief and anger spill over in Fran’s small village when German prisoners of war are sent to the nearby camp. After the death of her beloved brother on the front lines in Europe, it is hard for Fran to see these young men as anything but his killers. But prisoner Thomas, with his gentle nature and piercing blue eyes that see into Fran’s very soul, will force her to question everything she thought she knew.

Thrown together on the day one of the mines on the beach explodes, they begin to meet in secret. Fran even dares to dream about a future when their countries are no longer enemies and their blossoming love is not something they must hide from the world. But when Thomas receives shocking news from home, Fran must decide how much she is willing to risk for love…

1989, Berlin: Tiffany arrives in Berlin just as the wall that divided a nation finally falls. As citizens celebrate in the streets, she joins the tide of people crossing the newly opened border between West and East. In her pocket is a crumpled letter addressed to her grandmother, yellowed with age, that has led her in search of a wartime secret with the power to change her future…

Inspired by an incredible true love story, this is a beautiful, sweeping tale about the power of hope in the face of war and the legacy of a terrible choice. Fans of Fiona Valpy, The Forgotten Village and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will be absolutely gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping conclusion.

Readers love Sarah Mitchell:

I adored this book, devouring it in a couple of days!... A beautiful and moving story that will stay with me… Five shiny stars!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Beautiful, heart-warming, wonderfully written tale!... A story that moved me and one that will stay with me for a very long time.’ Renita D’Silva, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I LOVED this book!... I had to keep reading!... My heart broke.’ Mama’s Book Ramblins

I started this book on a Sunday morning and my family didn’t see me again until Sunday night!... A brilliant read!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gorgeous… Crackling with atmosphere and emotion.’ Lucinda Riley, bestselling author of The Love Letter, The Midnight Rose and The Seven Sisters

‘There is not one thing I did not love about this story… A beautiful and poignant story that has completely captured my heart.’ Sinfully Wicked Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely loved this book… An emotional, heart-wrenching, beautiful and poignant read that I completely fell in love with… Have the tissues ready for this one

Release date: June 18, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates