• Deadly Engagement
  • Deadly Affair
  • Alec Halsey Mysteries Books 1 - 3: A Georgian Historical Mystery

Alec Halsey Mystery

Buy now
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Audiobook
  • Hardcover


From Book 1:

Country house murder and mayhem

Spring 1763. Alec Halsey returns to London and the shocking news his estranged brother has not only killed his friend in a duel but is engaged to the woman he hoped to marry. At a weekend house party to celebrate the engagement, house guests get more than they bargained for when a lady’s maid is murdered, the bride-to-be is attacked, and a guest is shot dead. Uncovering a connection between these sinister acts, Alec confronts a cruel twist of fate and why his brother will go to any lengths to ruin him in Polite Society.

Lucinda Brant's mysteries explore the darker side of her richly authentic 18th century world. Along with trademark wit and high drama there are deeper subplots and even quirkier characters that will have you shuddering and laughing in equal measure.


I challenge anyone to read DEADLY ENGAGEMENT and not crave more from the handsome Alec Halsey with his high sense of morals, dark good looks, and divine analytical mind. —Francine Zane, Readers’ Favorite 5 STARS

An exciting and gripping tale of passion, murder and mistaken identity. This is one Georgian page-turner I savored until the very end. —Jill MacKenzie, All About Murder


  • USA TODAY bestseller
  • Romance Writers of Australia Romantic Book of the Year Finalist
  • B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree

Connecting Books

Enjoy Lucinda’s meticulously researched 18th century world, where characters, places, and events all intertwine.

Alec Halsey Mysteries
     Spring 1763 DEADLY ENGAGEMENT (Country house murder and mayhem)
     Autumn 1763 DEADLY AFFAIR (A poisoned vicar and the mysterious Miranda)
     Winter 1763 DEADLY PERIL (Bloody intrigue abroad)
     Summer 1764 DEADLY KIN (Murderous family secrets)
     Winter 1764 DEADLY DESIRE (Lies, levées, and lovers) In progress

Salt Hendon Series
    1763 SALT BRIDE (Magnus and Jane)
    1767 SALT REDUX (Antony and Caroline)
    SALT HENDON COLLECTION — boxed set with bonus novella SALT ANGEL

Roxton Family Saga
    1740s NOBLE SATYR (Renard and Antonia)
    1760s MIDNIGHT MARRIAGE (Julian and Deb)
    1770s AUTUMN DUCHESS (Antonia and Jonathon)
    1770s DAIR DEVIL (Dair and Rory)
    1770s PROUD MARY (Mary and Christopher)
    1780s SATYR’S SON (Henri-Antoine and Lisa)
    1743–77 ETERNALLY YOURS (Roxton Letters Vol. 1)
    1772-87 FOREVER REMAIN (Roxton Letters Vol. 2)

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...




Author updates