Notifications

Those I Have Lost

Those I Have Lost

Available in:
  • eBook

Synopsis

A secret love affair on a faraway island. Seas crawling with Japanese spies. A terrible war creeping ever closer…

India, 1940 and Rosie is devastated by the sudden death of her beloved mother. The parties, smiles and games disappear, and although Rosie is desperate to stay in her home, her father cannot look after her. All alone in the world, she is sent to Sri Lanka, to live with her mother’s friend Silvia and her three sons.

Time passes and Rosie flourishes in her new home amongst the mango trees and canna lilies. And one day, under the heat of the Sri Lankan sun, she falls in love for the first time. But her happiness is short lived, for the brutal war that has devastated families and torn Europe apart is creeping closer to their island. One by one the men depart Sri Lanka leaving Rosie with just memories and a broken heart she must hide.

As Rosie waits for letters that never come, tortured by stories of torpedoed ships and massacres of innocent families, she realises that she cannot just sit and wait for news. She volunteers to help the army, working in military intelligence to protect her island paradise. But then her work brings shocking news that makes her blood run cold. The man she loved is missing, feared dead. Yet Rosie cannot lose hope – even as more women are left widows, more children left without fathers. But when the much longed-for news comes that the war is ended, and a limping wasted figure returns home, will one final devastating revelation tear Rosie’s world apart?

An emotional and heartbreaking read with rich historical detail set against the backdrop of Sri Lanka during World War Two. Fans of Hazel Gaynor, Fiona Valpy Kristin Hannah and Clare Flynn will be swept away by Those I Have Lost.

What everyone’s saying about Sharon Maas:

If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!… Captivated me right from the start. This book is epic, a mesmerizing book of strength through unimaginable losses… Heartbreaking and beautifully written, this is a gripping tale of bravery… One of the best and most memorable historical books I've ever read!Deanne’s Book Thoughts, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Blew me away and I absolutely loved it… Oh my goodness me this was one seriously fantastically, heartwrenching tale… I became addicted… this book got to me more than any other book I have read… one hell of a fantastically brilliant book.’ Ginger Book Geek, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely loved this book. I cried, I smiled, I felt the intenseness of love and grief. It truly was just filled with ALL the emotions. Perfectly written and a gripping read. I would highly recommend!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A truly powerful and captivating story that grabs you instantly!… I loved this book and its surprising ending I didn't see coming…

Release date: July 9, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates