The Runaway Bride: A Medieval Scottish Romance

The Runaway Bride: A Medieval Scottish Romance

Buy now
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback


Aoife MacNeill is a beauty and a prize, a former heiress who wants to marry for love, but her father has arranged her marriage to Nigel Armstrong, the oldest son and heir of the Hawk of Inverfyre. One look confirms that Nigel will never possess her heart—although his cousin, Ross of Kinfairlie, is another matter. Aoife knows she cannot escape her fate, but yearns for one last adventure: she will flee Inverfyre and hope that Ross will be sent in pursuit. She tells herself that one kiss will be sufficient...

Ross of Kinfairlie is a mercenary with a blade for hire; a knight without the coin to claim a bride. When his cousin's betrothed flees, he lends chase, for the Hawk of Inverfyre trained him. Ross suspects that Aiofe plays a game, but her ploy is dangerous—the treacherous MacLaren clan, always seeking to undermine Inverfyre, take her captive. In the course of rescuing Aoife and ensuring her safety, Ross finds himself captivated by the fierce and beautiful maiden. How much will Ross surrender to guarantee Aoife's safety? And how much will Aoife offer to protect the man who has captured her heart?

Claire has published three series set in her medieval Scottish world of Ravensmuir, Kinfairlie and Inverfyre and is working on a fourth.

The Rogues of Ravensmuir series is a loosely linked trilogy and is chronologically first:
1. The Rogue (Merlyn and Ysabella)
2. The Scoundrel (Gawain and Evangeline)
3. The Warrior (Michael (the Hawk) and Aileen)

The Jewels of Kinfairlie series introduces the next generation of eight siblings at Kinfairlie. Because these books are more tightly linked, it's best to read the stories in order:

The Jewels of Kinfairlie series:
1. The Beauty Bride (Madeline and Rhys)
2. The Rose Red Bride (Vivienne and Erik)
3. The Snow White Bride (Alexander and Eleanor)
4. The Ballad of Rosamunde (Rosamunde and Padraig)

The True Love Brides series:
1. The Renegade's Heart (Isabella and Murdoch)
2. The Highlander's Curse (Annelise and Garrett)
3. The Frost Maiden's Kiss (Malcolm and Catriona)
4. The Warrior's Prize (Elizabeth and Rafael)

Follow Ross, the last unwed sibling, to Inverfyre, where we catch up with the Hawk and Aileen's children, too.
The Brides of Inverfyre series:
1. The Mercenary's Bride (Mhairi and Quentin)
2. The Runaway Bride (Ross and Aiofe)
3. The Stolen Bride, (Evangeline and Ramsay) - Coming Soon!

Release date: November 27, 2018

Publisher: Deborah A. Cooke

Print pages: 261

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...




Author updates