Notifications

Synopsis

We live in a close-knit community. Thirty houses surrounding a square of garden that is perfect for our kids. We congregate here on major holidays, each family bringing a plate and sharing food and conversation. It’s in the garden that I first met her. The woman who would worm her way into my family and piece by piece tear it apart…

 

I should have known something was wrong from the very beginning. She seemed perfect in so many ways: she floated through the baby shower, a warm smile on her face, chatting to strangers with ease. At first I thought it was sweet that she offered to help me, that she made an effort to get to know us, that she brought over games and knew Luna’s favorite foods… I had no idea that I couldn’t trust another mother…

 

I should have known that someone would eventually discover the secret in my marriage. Why I never believe a word my husband says—and why he shouldn’t believe me. But how could a woman I only just met be the one to find it out?

 

If I’d known, I’d have called the police sooner.

 

And maybe I’d have prevented that dreadful scene. Every neighbor peering through their curtains as the sirens wailed in our street.

 

I could have protected my family.

 

I could have stopped what happened next…

 

Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and The Girl on the Train will love this utterly unputdownable domestic thriller from USA Today bestselling author Nicola Marsh.

 

What readers are saying about Nicola Marsh:

Give me a second to get my breath back because that was a rush!… I could have never expected the final plot twist… will leave you shaking with adrenaline long after you finish. Believe me.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

This book left me utterly speechless! Wow!… I had a hard time putting it down to get anything done around my house!… The secrets!!! Oh my God the secrets this family kept was crazy!!!! I loved this book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

This book has it all!!!!!!!!!!! Scandal, secrets, lies, murder, mystery, love. You think you have figured out, but do you?... My first book by Nicola Marsh, won’t be my last.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Oh my goodness this book was fabulous… all-consuming, completely engrossing… The ending was incredible and not what I predicted at all. Amazing. Highly recommended. Five big stars.Psycho-Thrilla Books, 5 stars

 

“Holy smokes… will rock you to the core… it's not just a scandal it's a gut-wrenching sucker punch that literally takes your breath away… I never saw that shocker coming towards me.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

I. Loved. This… I didn't see the ending coming until the moments that it was happening… it was impossible to pick who it could be…

Release date: August 23, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Listen to a sample

The Liar Next Door
Nicola Marsh
November 22, 2021
Blackstone Audio

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates