The Duke's Unexpected Love

The Duke's Unexpected Love

Will a new duke win the heart of a woman who spurs the ton and has built a satisfying life for herself?
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback

Kindle Unlimited

Free with a subscription to Kindle Unlimited


Welcome to USA Today bestselling author Alexa Aston’s new Regency world—The Strongs of Shadowcrest—her first time to spotlight the love stories of a family of siblings since her popular St. Clairs series.

A virgin widow running her own company. A man who returns home after years at sea. An oddly-matched couple—who may not be so incompatible after all . . .

James Jones recalls little of his past, only remembering being taken as a young boy and growing up on the Seven Seas. Rising from cabin boy to captain of a ship, a chance encounter with a drunken stranger leads James back to his family, where he discovers he is the heir to the dying Duke of Seaton.

Sophie Grant, daughter of a viscount, never made her come-out, thanks to her father’s bad investments, which were paid off by Josiah Grant, owner of one of the leading shipping lines in Great Britain. As part of the arrangement, the shy Sophie is given to Josiah in marriage. Her new, much older husband helps Sophie to gain confidence in herself by teaching her all about how to run his shipping empire.

James, a former captain for one of Grant’s vessels, encounters the now-widowed Sophie and feels a connection with the efficient, intelligent woman. Rebelling against his new role as a leading member of the ton, he spurns Polite Society and its expectation that he wed some titled gentleman’s bird-witted daughter—because James is increasingly drawn to the gossiped-about, independent Sophie Grant.

Will a newly-minted duke be able to win the heart of a woman who spurs the ton and has built a satisfying life for herself?

Find the answer in bestselling author Alexa Aston’s The Duke’s Unexpected Love, Book 1 of The Strongs of Shadowcrest.

* Each book in The Strongs of Shadowcrest is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.

Series Order:
Book #1: The Duke’s Unexpected Love

Book #2: The Perks of Loving a Viscount

Book #3: Falling for the Marquess

Book #4: The Captain and the Duchess

Book #5: Courtship at Shadowcrest (Regency Duet – includes Tempted by the Earl and The Viscount's Heart)

Book #6: The Marquess’ Quest for Love

Book #7: The Duke’s Guide to Winning a Lady

Release date: February 2, 2024

Publisher: Dragonblade Publishing

Print pages: 261

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...




Behind the book

My first Regency historical romance series was The St. Clairs, about a family of siblings. Since then, I have never written about an entire family--until now.

The Strongs of Shadowcrest will feature eight romances. Five will be the Strong siblings, two will be their cousins, and one will feature their widowed mother/stepmother.

I think you'll have a lot of fun with these Strongs!

Author updates