Notifications

Synopsis

Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed flat. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted since the night her mother was killed in front of her. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has been murdered, she comes face to face with the trauma she has spent a lifetime running from.

A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory.

Days later, Marissa’s neighbour is found dead in his flat with stab wounds all over his body, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbour, but she’d never want to see him hurt. How can she convince the police that she isn’t a killer? And, as the secrets from her past take hold of her present, is there anyone in her small world she can trust?

As you read, you’ll believe every word Marissa says. You’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems…

Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!

What readers are saying about Carla Kovach:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Had me on the edge of my seat, my heart in my mouth and the sweat pouring out of my from nerves and apprehension.’ @Chloesreadingroom

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

My head was spinningFinger licking good.’ B for Bookreview

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Wow… A fabulous book… Brilliantly addictive. I loved every page.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I am completely hooked… I read this in a single sitting, unable to put it down.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! Absolutely amazing!… An incredibly clever and gripping story. I was hooked from the first page.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Fantastic. Five stars from me.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow! What a great read!! This was full of so many twists and turns… This book touched every possible emotion. Can’t recommend enough!’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What an amazing thriller!Absolutely loved the storyline.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An easy five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was gobsmacked!… A fast-paced, captivating read.’ @My_reading_Narnia

Release date: September 20, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Listen to a sample

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates