Notifications

Synopsis

They’d used his school photograph in the newspapers. His blond hair neatly combed, smiling for the camera. I thought, you will disappear, Johnny. This will be the last photo taken of you.

Forty years ago: Cece’s son went out on his bike on a hot summer’s day and never came home. Every evening she lingers on her front porch, hoping to see him coming up the driveway. But the street remains empty and, with her heart aching, Cece goes back inside and closes the door behind her…

Forty years later: On a rare visit to her father, Carla stumbles across a box tucked away in one of the cupboards. Full of her father’s diaries and old newspaper clippings, it tells the story of the disappearance of three boys when her father was just a child.

Her father refuses to discuss the missing children and his silence only makes Carla more curious. When she meets the mother of the last boy who went missing, and sees her pain first-hand, Carla becomes determined to help Cece finally lay her child to rest.

But as Carla begins to read the diaries and discovers more about the dark days all those years before, she realises the truth might be more complicated than she thought. There are people in this town who will do anything to stop her digging up the past, and uncovering the truth could change her world in ways she never imagined possible…

A totally gripping, emotionally charged suspense novel about small-town secrets and the price of facing up to the truth. Fans of Liane Moriarty, Diane Chamberlain and The Silent Daughter will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping twist.

Readers love Jennifer Harvey:

Wow, sooooo many emotions with this outstanding book… Awesome, GrippingHeartbreaking!!!” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“Thrilling. Suspenseful. Taut. Breathtakingly tense. Addictive. WOW, this was a book I couldn’t put down.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“A real heart-wrenching read… An emotional mysteryNot a book to miss!” NetGalley reviewer

Fast paced, very emotional, totally heartbreaking… I was just blown away!… An unforgettable story!” Heidi Lynn Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

You will love this book!… Believe me when I say you’ll never see the ending coming.” Goodreads reviewer

Wonderful from start to finish… Amazing. Stunning. Brilliant.” Renita D’Silva, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Engaging, twisty and page turningI could not put this book down

Release date: August 26, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates