Notifications

Synopsis

Corbello, Italy, 1947. A woman and a little boy stagger into the ruins of an old house deep in the forest, wild roses overwhelming the crumbling terracotta walls. Since the war, nowhere has been safe. But they both freeze in shock when a voice calls out from the shadows… For young mother Fosca Sentino, accepting refuge from reluctant British war hero Richard – in Tuscany to escape his tragic past – is the only way to keep her little family safe. She once risked everything to spy on Nazi commanders and pass secret information to the resistenza. But after a heartbreaking betrayal, Fosca’s best friend Simonetta disappeared without trace. The whole community was torn apart, and now Fosca and her son are outcasts. Wary of this handsome stranger at first, Fosca slowly starts to feel safe as she watches him play with her son in the overgrown orchard. But her fragile peace is shattered the moment a silver brooch is found in the garden, and she recognises it as Simonetta’s… Fosca has always suspected that another member of the resistenza betrayed her. With Richard by her side, she must find out if Simonetta is still alive, and clear her own name. But how did the brooch end up at the house? And with a traitor hiding in the village, willing to do anything to keep this secret buried, has Fosca put herself and her young son in terrible danger? An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking standalone historical read that explores the incredible courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, The Nightingale, and anyone longing to lose themselves in the mountain landscapes and olive groves of rural Tuscany. Read what everyone’s saying about The Tuscan House : ‘A devastating, beautiful, heartbreaking, compelling and riveting page-turner… I was absolutely shocked by the two big reveals… I did not see them coming!!! If you’re looking for a book with a twist this is definitely for you!!!... absolutely fantastic… will shock and leave you thinking about the story for a long time.’ BookWorm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Exciting, romantic, irresistible… captured my interest from page one… loved… beautiful… suspenseful… I really enjoyed reading this story.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Grabbed me and pulled me right in… unforgettable… absolutely loved… addictive. I was captivated… you feel really caught up in the twists and turns.’ On the Shelf Books ‘A beautifully descriptive narrative… haunting story… will remain with you for a long time after you've finished reading. Highly recommend.’ Pink Quill Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Heartbreaking… beautifully written… My heart ached… kept readers on their toes! ’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Gloriously intriguing… A tale that tugs at the heart strings… I have nothing but praise for this beautifully written tale.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Outstanding… heartbreaking… the best historical fiction out there.’ Books by Bindu ‘ Will captivate and enthral… exquisite period detail, emotional intensity and heart-pounding intrigue… a stunning page-turner.’ Bookish Jottings ‘ The Tuscan House will delight fans of WWII dramas… a story that should not be missed.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Release date: April 7, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates