Notifications

Synopsis

Two ordinary sisters. A long and brutal war. A heroic sacrifice… London, 1915. As German bombs rain down on the East End of London and hungry children queue for rations in the blistering cold, fifteen-year-old Florrie is forced to grow up fast. With her father fighting in the muddy trenches, Florrie turns to her older sister Edith for comfort. But the war has changed Edith. She has grown quiet, with dark shadows under her eyes, and has started leaving the house at night in secret. When Florrie follows her sister through the dark and winding streets of London, she is shocked by what she discovers. But she knows she must keep her sister’s secret for the sake of their family, even if she herself must pay the ultimate price… Years later Kate, running from her broken relationship, is sorting through her dead aunt Florrie’s house, which she shared with her sister Edith. As she sits on the threadbare carpets, looking at photos of Florrie during the war, she notices the change in her aunt – from carefree young girl with a hopeful smile to a hollow-cheeked young woman, with dark sad eyes. Determined to put her family’s ghosts to rest, Kate must unearth the secret past of her two aunts. Why is there a hidden locked room in the little house they shared? What is the story behind the abandoned wedding dress wrapped in tissue and tied up with a ribbon? And when Kate discovers the tragic secrets that have bound her family together, will she ever be able to move on? A heartbreaking historical novel of war, tragedy and the sacrifices we make for those we love. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah and Victoria Hislop will be hooked by The Shut-Away Sisters. What everyone is saying about Suzanne Goldring: ‘ I could not put this book down, and heaven help anyone that tried to disturb my reading!! I absolutely loved this book! I laughed, I cried, I cheered… what a fantastic read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ It made me cry at so many points… It left me completely hooked and towards the end I just couldn’t put the book down!’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Wow! Where do I even begin? I was captivated from the very first page right up until the very last… So easy to get swept up into the story and lose yourself completely within the pages. Captivating, compelling and heartbreaking… Absolutely brilliant.’ Confessions of a Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Captivating, poignant and heart-warming… I couldn't put it down!… A raw and heartbreaking story that had me engrossed from the first few pages… Wonderfully compelling.’ Dash Fan, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Release date: June 29, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates