Notifications

Synopsis

Paris, August 1856: An ordinary woman far from home. A plot against the crown. Those she loves in terrible danger…

Livia, a humble doctor’s daughter from the Italian countryside, arrives in Paris with her new husband. At first, she feels alone and isolated among the gray, rain-drenched streets. Until Elisabetta, the Emperor’s clever, beautiful mistress, takes her under her wing, and finally Livia has a true ally.

The two women are soon inseparable, strolling arm in arm down Paris’s wide boulevards and dancing the night away at masked balls. At last, Livia feels happy in her new life.

But when Elisabetta is mysteriously poisoned, the tables turn and it is Livia who has the power to shape the destiny of those around her. She must draw on all her knowledge of herbs and medicine to cure her friend. And the stakes soon become higher than she ever imagined, when her husband is falsely accused of treason and conspiring against the crown.

With Elisabetta close to death and the future of France in peril, Livia will need to draw on all her courage to save the lives of those she loves… as well as her own…

A totally gripping, richly imagined historical novel about the power held by women in a world run by men. Fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Marie Benedict will be absolutely hooked from the very first page until the final, breath-taking conclusion.

Readers love Meghan Masterson:

Wonderfully captivating… An absolute delight to read. Wowa heart-wrenching and page-turning book. I devoured this one.” @iheartbooks1991, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

WOW! I stayed up all night to finish this incredible book! I was totally gripped… If you are missing Bridgerton, this will be your next obsession! Best book of the year!!!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely brilliant!I honestly think I have permanent indentations on eReader from gripping it so tightly after reading this thrilling work created by Meghan… a must read.” The Secret Book Sleuth,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

An addictive story!I justcould not stop reading… I was swept away by the story… A great choice for readers who love history and romance.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Sexy, absorbing, and suspenseful, this story sweeps you along to its riveting conclusion

Release date: August 18, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates