Notifications

The Orphanage

The Orphanage

Available in:
  • eBook

Synopsis

At the back door, nine-year-old Rita held out her palm, her fingers outstretched. Clara stared at it. Being the housemother of an orphanage was all new to her. Was she supposed to give the children something before school?

‘What’s this, Rita?’

‘Aren’t you going to beat us, Miss Newton?’ the little girl prompted, her sad eyes meeting Clara’s.

England, 1948. In the aftermath of the Second World War, hundreds of children have been left without homes or families, the only survivors of German bombings in the cities. Clara Newton unexpectedly secures a job as Housemother of a country village orphanage. For Clara, it’s a bittersweet new start – she needs a change of scene, but the move brings her closer to where her lost fiancé Michael, a brave American pilot, was stationed during the war.

But when Clara arrives at Shilling Grange Orphanage, she realises she knows nothing about children – not least how to look after eight little ones who have nobody else in the world but her. And Clara’s appearance in town has caught the attention of more than just her new charges. While Clara’s new neighbour – brooding veteran Ivor Delaney – seems to enjoy critiquing Clara’s every move, charismatic and wealthy local lawyer Jolyon White is all too happy to smooth things over. But after Michael’s tragic disappearance, and with such profound new responsibility on her hands, is Clara really ready to move on?

An absolutely heartbreaking read – emotional and unforgettable. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloe and The Orphan Sisters won’t be able to put this book down.

What readers are saying about Lizzie Page:

Brought me to tears… The story has plenty of twists and turns… If you like romantic historical fiction, particularly which is set in wartime, then this is the book for you! This, at times, bought tears to my eyes and equally a warm glow to my heart.’ Stardust Book Reviews

‘Lizzie Page has gone and done it again with this beautiful, poignant and immensely emotional storyShe is by far one of my favourite authors… Lizzie you have blown me away with your beautiful words, wonderful imagination and emotional story… It is a lovingly written story that has real heart, and one that I cannot recommend enough.’ Chicks Rogues and Scandals, 5 stars

I loved it!... I adore Lizzie Page’s writing and the way she so brilliantly blends fact and fiction.’ Jill Mansell, bestselling author

‘Page is a wonderful writer, one that draws me in to the story completely and utterly … wonderful characters… brilliantly plotted with a delightfully intertwined story, it has the heartbreak of war and a gorgeous love storyfantastic

Release date: August 27, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates