Notifications

Synopsis

Detective Amanda Steele stops just inside the doorway, recognizing the victim’s face instantly. He seems so vulnerable in death; soft, human, even harmless. But she can never forget the evil he has inflicted. Her heart is hammering as she remembers her precious daughter, with her red curls and infectious laugh, and how she was lowered into that little grave…

It’s been five years since Detective Amanda Steele’s life was derailed in the path of an oncoming drunk driver. The small community of Dumfries, Virginia, may have moved on from the tragic deaths of her husband and daughter, but Amanda cannot. When the driver who killed her family is found murdered in a motel room, she can’t keep away from the case.

Fighting her sergeant to be allowed to work an investigation with such a personal connection to her, Amanda is in a race to prove that she can uncover the truth. But the more she digs into the past of the man who destroyed her future, the more shocking discoveries she makes. And when Amanda finds the link between a silver bracelet in his possession and the brutal unsolved murder of a young exotic dancer, she realizes she’s caught up in something darker than she ever imagined and suspects that more girls could be in danger.

But as Amanda edges toward the truth, she gets closer to a secret as personal as it is deadly. Amanda has stumbled upon a dangerous killer, and she must face some terrible truths in order to catch this killer – and save his next victim as she couldn’t save her own daughter…

A gripping, page-turning thriller full of mystery and suspense. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni.

Readers love Carolyn Arnold:

????? “OMG YES. This was an amazing book… I couldn’t put it downBest book I read this year.” Goodreads reviewer

????? “My heart is still beating fast! Wow!! By far, one of the best thrillers I’ve read in a long time! The characters were great and no one would ever guess the ending! This story knocks it out of the ballpark!!” Goodreads reviewer

????? “Wow! Could not put this down. So many twists and surprises. Highly recommend!” Goodreads reviewer

????? “If there was a way to give more than 5 stars, I would! This book is amazing!… It's fast paced and will have you turning pages ever faster! Never a dull moment! Extremely well written as well as thought out!” Goodreads reviewer

????? “What a great book! I read it in one day and had so many twists and turns I never saw the ending coming!” Goodreads reviewer

????? “I have NEVER had my heart pumping as it does in this series.” Goodreads reviewer

????? “Wow! This book hooked me from the very beginning and didn't let go…

Release date: January 11, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates