Notifications

Synopsis

The little girl peered down the dark alleyway. She knew she wasn’t supposed to take this shortcut and her mother would kill her if she found out, but it was raining and all she wanted was to get home quickly. She stepped forward, not seeing the silent figure following her into the dark passageway… When nine-year-old Charlotte Standish goes missing from her street in the small town of Rydale Falls, it sparks a media frenzy. Detective Morgan Brookes leads a frantic hunt for the girl, but little Charlie seems to have vanished into thin air. Chasing up a lead at Charlie’s school, Morgan is chilled to learn that this isn’t the first time a child has gone missing on this street. Another girl disappeared fifteen years ago, and Morgan is the only one who thinks the cases could be related. But in the moment that she takes her eye off Charlie’s case to investigate the link between the two girls, another child, Macy, goes missing. Then Morgan gets the call she was dreading, Charlie’s lifeless body has been found in a local park, lying in the shadow of a large tree. Morgan has let one girl down, but she refuses to give up on Macy. Determined to find an overlooked clue, she retraces Macy’s last steps. She’s getting close to the truth when her partner, Detective Ben Matthews, is attacked outside Morgan’s home. Is a twisted killer isolating Morgan from her team? And how long does Macy have left to live? Morgan must solve the case before more innocent lives are taken… A nail-biting, unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night, for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Patricia Gibney. Readers love the Detective Morgan Brookes series: ‘One of those rare books that really is unputdownable. A must read.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Wow oh wow!!… How can I possibly write a review which shows how much I have enjoyed this book?… I devoured this gem in just one sitting. It completely pulled me in and was utterly impossible to put down… At points I’ve literally shivered… Strong five star read and one which is deserving of higher.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ WOW WOW WOW!! What a hair-raising roller-coaster of a read this is! WOW!… just sensational!!… My stomach felt as if it were tied in a knot throughout and at one point my jaw dropped onto my chest and it took me quite a few seconds to pull it back in place! OMG!! What the…?? The ending couldn’t be more breath-taking and surprising.’ Relax and Read Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Had me gripped from the start… Downloaded and read in one go… Could not put it down.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Literally blew me away… Another one-sitting book with tension and suspense, chilling and with plenty of heart-in-your-mouth moments. Yes this book is that good. A must-read.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An excellent book and a fast-paced intriguing crime thriller that I devoured in record time. It really is THAT good.’ Confessions of a Bookaholic, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ Wow!!… My absolute favourite of Helen’s yet! I have been taken completely on a rollercoaster and this has been utterly impossible to put down… A definite five star read.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘ I couldn’t put it down and read it in one sitting. I was glued to the pages, loved it. It was bloody brilliant and well worth 5 stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This is such a great book!… Amazing… I was gasping with shock when I started to realise what was going on… 5 big stars.’ B for Book Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Release date: June 1, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates