Notifications

Synopsis

The song surrounded her now, the murmuring of the library insistent, and her foot took the first step on the winding stairs. She knew it wasn’t entirely a dream. It was the library calling her, its magic driving her.

 

When Sophie is offered a job at the Ayredale Library – the finest collection of rare books in the world, and the last place her bookbinder mother was seen when Sophie was just a teenager – she leaps at the chance. Will she finally discover what happened to the woman she’s always believed abandoned her?

 

Taking in the endless shelves of antique books, the soaring stained glass windows, and the grand sweeping staircase, usually shy Sophie feels strangely at home, and is welcomed by her eccentric fellow binders. But why is the Keeper of the Library so reluctant to speak about Sophie’s mother? And why is Sophie the only person who can read the strange spells in the oldest books on display, written in a forgotten language nobody else understands?

 

The mysteries of the library only deepen when Sophie stumbles upon an elaborately carved door. The pattern exactly matches the pendant her mother left behind years ago, engraved with a delicate leaf. As the door swings open at her touch, Sophie gasps at the incredible sight: an enormous tree, impossibly growing higher than the library itself, its gently falling golden leaves somehow resembling the pages of a book. Amidst their rustling, Sophie hears a familiar whisper…

 

‘There you are, my Sophie. I knew you’d come back for me.’

 

An absolutely spellbinding read about long-hidden family secrets and the magic that lurks between the pages of every ancient book. Perfect for fans of The Ten Thousand Doors of January, The Night Circus and The Binding.

 

Wow, wow, wow!... A showstopping book that was hard to put downAn addicting adventure you will not want to miss out on.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Took my heart out of my chest, stomped on it and then put it back, while whispering, "Keep reading"… I sat and ugly cried for 15 minutes.’ Awesome Alitza, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I’m speechlessmy heart was breaking… the whole ending was just me switching between the sobbing, mind blown, shocked, angry emojis… There really isn’t a calm moment in this book, and it keeps you turning the pageyou’re going to fall in lovekept me up until the light started shining in through my window. Perfect binge-able books. Have I convinced you yet?’ Writing the Universe, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I don't know what to say…

Release date: September 20, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates