Notifications

The Black Kids

The Black Kids

Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Hardcover
  • Audiobook

Synopsis

A New York Times bestseller

"Should be required reading in every classroom." -Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
"A true love letter to Los Angeles." -Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
"A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history." -Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday's Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of senior year and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Release date: August 4, 2020

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Print pages: 367

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Listen to a sample

The Black Kids
Kiersey Clemons
08:55:33
245.17 MB
9781797112213
August 4, 2020
Simon & Schuster

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates