Notifications

salt slow

salt slow

As urban dwellers’ sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan’s shadow, a city turns insomniac.
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Hardcover
  • Audiobook

Synopsis

Shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.


In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women’s experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers’ sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan’s shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates’. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected.

Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice.

Release date: October 8, 2019

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Print pages: 176

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Listen to a sample

salt slow
Julia Armfield
Kristin Atherton
05:36:41
154.13 MB
9781250243041
October 8, 2019
Macmillan Audio
2019

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates