Notifications

Synopsis

One, two, three. She counts the bodies dragged from the burning beach house, smoke rising from their cotton pajamas, and remembers a fourth; red hair, freckles, clinging to his mother’s legs, begging to watch the fireworks a while longer. “Where’s the little boy?” she whispers… In the ashes of the Fox family’s seafront vacation home, Olivia Rockwell can barely hold back her tears as she wonders who in the close-knit town of Fog Harbor could destroy such a warm, loving family. Then she spots a little green toy soldier in the sand and follows a set of small footprints along the beach to an abandoned lifeguard hut. Inside, she finds the youngest Fox child, Thomas. The only survivor… Holding his trembling body close, Olivia promises to keep him safe. She knows the agony of losing family at such a young age. But the second Thomas catches sight of Detective Will Decker’s sliver police badge over her shoulder, the little boy’s scream pierces the night. Could the family have been targeted by someone sworn to protect them? Is anyone safe if the police themselves are the primary suspect? Unsure who she can trust, Olivia keeps hold of the tiny horseshoe charm she finds at the scene and follows the trail deep into the web of lies surrounding this seemingly perfect family. But just as a tip-off from a local lighthouse-keeper puts the killer within reach, tragedy strikes: little Thomas is snatched from his bed. Up against a calculating monster who seems to know her every weakness, Olivia must dig deeper than ever before to find this innocent child. But when one twisted killer becomes two, can she stay alive long enough to save him? A totally gripping and utterly addictive page-turner that will have you biting your nails and reeling at the twists. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot! Everyone is talking about Ellery Kane: ‘ Omg… Wow, just wow, I loved this… addictive… gripping… fast-paced, packed full of twists and turns, kept me guessing and had me captivated and glued to my e-reader… gave me a very bad case of just-one-more-chapter syndrome… I would give it more than five stars if I could… Very, very highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars ‘ Perfect… heart-stopping… glued to this book!… Buckle your seatbelt and prepare for a bumpy ride!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘ Fantastic… a hold-on-tight, prepare-to-not-sleep, white-knuckle suspense! Keeps you guessing to the end! ’ Novels and Latte, 5 stars ‘ Grabbed me from the beginning and sucked me in. I couldn’t put this one down and read it in one sitting.’ Nicki's Book Blog ‘ Will keep you turning the pages… on the edge of your seat and biting your lip with no time to catch your breath.’ Spooky's Maze of Books, 5 stars ‘Looking for twists and turns you never see coming? Then this is the book for you!… perfectly paced… keeping you on the edge of your seat. Start this series today! You will not regret it!’ The Butterfly Reader, 5 stars ‘ Gripping… kept me reading until late at night and on the edge of my seat… I LOVED IT! ’ Bookworm86, 5 stars ‘ PERFECTION!… you won’t want to put this book down… keeps you guessing until the end! ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Release date: June 23, 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates