Notifications

Cry for Mercy

Cry for Mercy

Winter is settling on Toronto and a series of seemingly unconnected murders weigh heavily on DI Eleanor Raven.
Available in:
  • eBook
  • Paperback
  • Audiobook

Synopsis

Eleanor closed her eyes tightly against the image in front of her. Another innocent life taken, another family left grieving. Detective Inspector Eleanor Raven arrives at the derelict power station briefed on the murder scene inside. A beautiful young woman has been found, her body posed and a cherry-red lipstick painted across her mouth. But when she catches sight of the engagement ring crusted with blood on her delicate finger, Eleanor pushes back on the grief it provokes. Lydia Greystein had so much to live for. The only way Eleanor can help now is to find the killer responsible, and she and her team immediately set to work. And when another woman is found, bound in the same ritualistic stance and wearing the same bright red lipstick, Eleanor’s case becomes more twisted and urgent than ever. But struggling to unpick the killer’s motivations, the team is at a loss until Eleanor finds a link between the victims and a cold case, an unsolved death with a connection to her own personal life. To follow the clues now risks bringing her secrets into the open. But as Eleanor begins to understand the killer, he starts to understand her too. Eleanor must solve this case before more women are taken. Could the secrets she keeps from those closest to her be the final clue in this case… or will they ultimately cost Eleanor her life? A fast-paced, tense and completely gripping mystery thriller that will keep you hooked until the final page. Karen Long will be the newest favourite crime author for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni. Cry for Mercy was previously published as The Safe Word.

Readers love Cry for Mercy:

“Unputdownable… Eleanor Raven is an amazing female character.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I absolutely loved it… OMG what an opening talk about being hooked… The words ‘OH WOW’ left my mouth when I realized I had finished it! That’s how much I enjoyed it. This is a must read for all crime fans it ticked all the boxes for me. I highly recommend this book giving it 5 massive stars.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Eleanor Raven is quite easily one of my favourite female characters this year… Gritty, suspenseful and captivating.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Excellent!!!… Fantastic read!!! Do yourself a favour… read it… NOW! ” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Loved, loved, loved this book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“This book had me gripped with suspense from page one. I couldn’t put this book down. Such a perfect serial killer thriller. Fantastically written.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“One of the most gripping books I have read… From the off the action was fast-paced and exciting… I cannot recommend it enough.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Absolutely brilliant I could not put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Without a doubt, one of the best crime books I have read all year!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Couldn’t put the book down… kept you guessing in the action all the way to the end.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“I don’t give out 5-star reviews lightly… I’m so glad I stumbled across this gem.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Excellent thriller… Eleanor Raven is not your average detective by any stretch of the imagination!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Release date: November 16, 2020

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 298

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates