Notifications

A Dangerous Goodbye

Kindle Unlimited

Free with a subscription to Kindle Unlimited

Shout-outs

‘A brilliantly entertaining murder mystery… Full of lies, spies, murder, romance, mystery and so much more. Bursting at the seams!’
Sharon Beyond the Books

Synopsis

England, 1944. On a clear autumn morning in late September, time stops for Fen Churche. Waiting on the scrubbed farmhouse table for her is a letter from her cherished Arthur Melville-Hare, a brave, blue-eyed captain who was shipped off to war. Through her tears, she knows what it means – she will never see her fiancé again.

As she reads his last letter, she realises something the War Office didn’t: Fen and Arthur shared a love of crosswords, and he’s left her clever clues to his disappearance.

Desperate to find out what happened to the love of her life, she sets off for France, travelling to his last posting: a quaint village, surrounded by vineyards. But darkness lies beneath the charming surface of this countryside town, and when the beloved priest and the son of a local wine maker are found dead, it’s clear that someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried.

Can Fen stay alive long enough to find out the truth?

A totally gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery.

Nail-biting suspense and powerful emotion… A marvellous treat for historical mystery fans… A compulsively readable thriller that has me waiting with bated breath for the next.’ Bookish Jottings ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A wonderful historical mystery and a fantastic start to a new series.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘The plot is intriguing and filled with mystery, spies, lies, romance, murder and more!!!… Kept me guessing throughout.’ Goodreads Reviewer

A perfect historical mystery! What a beginning!… I could not put this book down and look forward to more from Ms. Chester.’ Goodreads Reviewer

I read raptly to the end, unaware that a summer storm poured outside. Can’t wait ’til book two!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘I needed to know who the killer was, I just kept reading. House chores? No time for that!’ NetGalley Reviewer

Release date: August 20, 2020

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 278

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates