Notifications

Synopsis

In the golden afternoon light, the young woman lies perfectly still, her dark hair fanning out behind her. She is dressed in a rose red sari, shot through with gold. Just like the others.

The last time Detective Vijay Patel visited India, he vowed never to return. After a devastating accident, the country holds only bitter memories and broken dreams. But when three young women are murdered in mysterious circumstances, Patel is pulled back to his past.

Leaving his fiancée Sarah behind in London, Patel rushes to a beautiful apartment on a tree-lined street where the body of Sarita Mohan, a successful businesswoman, has been found. Floating on a sea of black satin, she is dressed in red silk, a tiny silver ring on the fourth toe of her right foot.

Desperate to find a link between the murders, Patel digs into the other cases and spots the missing link. The toe ring is a symbol of marriage and the distinctive red saris are traditionally worn for weddings. What is the killer trying to tell them? Why leave each body posed like a bride?

Then Sarah is kidnapped, and Patel is frantic to find the woman he loves before she becomes the next victim. As he desperately re-reads the killer's last cryptic message, Patel finds the critical clue he's been searching for, and hopefully a chance to save Sarah.

Determined to rescue the woman he loves, can Patel outwit the deadliest killer he has ever faced? Or is he already too late?

Utterly unputdownable, this breathless thriller will keep you guessing until the final, shocking twist. Fans of Ian Rankin, Abir Mukherjee and Val McDermid will be totally gripped!

What readers are saying about Anita Sivakumaran:

'Wow just incredible... The killer's identity just took my breath away... Breathtaking suspense and mystery that will blow you away... Outstanding.' Surjit's Book Blog, 5 stars

'I was awake until 2 a.m. reading.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Completely pulled in... I have devoured this book in one sitting.' Little Miss Book Lover 87

'Gripping... Very well drawn characters... Recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer

'Exciting... A super-gripping new thriller series.' Cosmopolitan

'Vivid descriptions and a wonderfully rich setting, I thoroughly enjoyed reading.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Anita Sivakumaran is an exciting new name in crime fiction.' The Times

'Compulsive, captivating and fast-paced... Capturing my interest from start to finish.' Avid Readers Retreat

Release date: August 12, 2021

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group

Print pages: 352

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates