Notifications

The Widow's Last Secret

The Widow's Last Secret

Available in:
  • eBook

Synopsis

There was no one to protect her now. And if her secret ever became known, she risked losing everything. With one final look around the bare little room, she lifted her bundle, squared her shoulders and walked out of her old life forever.

England, 1846: Bella Farrow is a beautiful young widow, making a good living on her own land since her short but happy marriage.

But no one knows the truth about Bella. Just six years before, she’d become a fugitive from the law after desperation drove her to a terrible decision. And this could still see her imprisoned – or worse – if found out.

Her husband had never known the truth about her, and she wants to make sure that no one else does. All she wants is to live in peace.

But her quiet corner of the countryside is changing. And when an ambitious young railway engineer named James Earlham arrives in the village, she can’t help her growing attraction to him. She wants to be honest with him, but the past she’s worked so hard to keep hidden needs to stay that way forever.

But when she discovers James’s history, Bella realises that the man she has allowed herself to trust – who knows her secret and who holds her future in his hands – has a connection to her own secret past.

Now she has another decision to make: walk away and keep herself safe, or risk everything to confront James, and finally free her heart from the burden it carries.

A page-turning novel about secrets, betrayal and the impossibility of hiding from your past, The Widow’s Last Secret is a must-read for fans of Kerry Barrett, Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.

Readers love Lora Davies:

Incredible. This book broke me into a million pieces.’ @southernbellebooks ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this novel… I was trying hard not to shed a tear.’ Tani Reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Outstanding, remarkable!… A soaring, sweeping, satisfying novel that kept me up late for several nightsI didn’t want this story to end!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a fantastic epic storytruly a heart-wrenching read… with characters that I’ll remember for a long time. If you enjoy historical fiction, this really is a must read!’ Carla Kovach ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I felt like I was there… loved the characters… Highly recommended read.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Moving… I was totally immersed in this book and couldn’t put it down Really enjoyable.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Release date: January 18, 2022

Publisher: Bookouture

Print pages: 350

* BingeBooks earns revenue from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate as well as from other retail partners.

Reader buzz

Please log in to recommend or discuss...

Videos

Images

Podcasts

Author updates